Top 12 Books By Louisa May Alcott

Are you ready to know about the books by Louisa May Alcott? Louisa May Alcott was an American novelist who was born on November 29, 1832, and died on March 6, 1888. She appeared regularly in Atlantic magazine and published several short stories and other novels for young adults. Also, we discussed the Louisa May Alcott biography. She regularly submits work to The Atlantic magazine and has published several short stories. In this post, we will look at some of the books by Louisa May Alcott.  

List Of 12 Books By Louisa May Alcott

The name of the Books by Louisa May Alcott list is mentioned below.  

  1. Flower Fables 
  2. Hospital Sketches 
  3. Moods 
  4. Little Women
  5. Good Wives
  6. An Old Fashioned Girl
  7. Little Men
  8. Eight Cousins
  9. Rose In Bloom 
  10. Jack & Jill – A Village Story 
  11. Proverb Stories 
  12. Jo’s Boys

Top 12 Books By Louisa May Alcott

From the above list of books in order by Louisa May Alcott, here are the top 12 books. Let us know more about them.

1. Flower Fables

Flower Fables

The Flower Fables was Louisa May Alcott’s first published work and was published on December 9, 1854. The book was a collection of fiction written for Ellen Emerson six years earlier and became the best book by Louisa May Alcott.

2. Hospital Sketches 

Hospital Sketches 

Hospital Sketches is a collection of four sketches based on the letters of Louisa May Alcott. The first drawing appeared on May 22, 1863, in the Boston Commonwealth, an abolitionist magazine edited by family friend Franklin Benjamin Sanborn.

3. Moods 


Moods, Louisa May Alcott’s first novel, was published in 1864, four years before the best-seller Little Women. The novel opens as she embarks on a camping trip to the river with her brother and two of his friends, both of whom fall in love with her.

4. Little Women

Little Women

Little Women is a novel written by American novelist Louisa May Alcott. Published in two volumes in 1868 and 1869, Alcott wrote the book over several months at her publisher’s request. I like good strong words that mean something as the Louisa May Alcott quote in this book.

5. Good Wives

Good Wives

Good Wives is considered the second book in Louisa May Alcott’s Little Woman series. The book mainly focuses on sisters settling in and out of the family. This novel by Louisa May Alcott was published in 1869.

Click here – Top 12 Books By Francine Rivers

6. An Old Fashioned Girl

An Old Fashioned Girl

An Old-Fashioned Girl is a novel by Louisa May Alcott, first published in 1869. The first six chapters of the novel were serialized in Mary’s Museum Magazine. Before publishing the book Alcott added 13 more chapters. Talking about the Louisa May Alcott’s education therefore at an early age, Alcott developed an interest in reading and writing.

7. Little Men

Little Men

Little Men is a children’s novel by American author Louisa May Alcott, first published in 1871 by Roberts Brothers. The book revisits characters from her 1868-69 two-volume novel Little Women and serves as a sequel to it.

8. Eight Cousins

Eight Cousins3

Eight Cousins books by author Louisa May Alcott were published in 1875. It is the story of Rose Campbell, a lonely and sick girl who has recently been orphaned and now has to live with her great aunt.

9. Rose In Bloom 

Rose In Bloom2

Rose in Bloom is a novel by Louisa May Alcott published in 1876. It tells the story of Rose Campbell, a girl in the nineteenth century, who finds her way into society. This book is the sequel to Eight Cousins.

10. Under The Lilacs

Under The Lilacs

Under the Lilacs is a children’s novel by Louisa May Alcott, published in 1878. The book tells the story of two little girls, Bab and Betty, who are having tea with their dolls when an unknown dog appears and steals their cake.

11. Jack & Jill – A Village Story

Jack & Jill - A Village Story

Jack and Jill – A Village Story book written by Louisa May Alcott is a children’s book originally published in 1880. It is the story of two good friends named Jack and Janey who live next to each other.

12. Jo’s Boys

Jo’s Boys

Joe’s Boys, a sequel to Little Men, is a novel by American author Louisa May Alcott, first published in 1886. This novel is the final book in the Unauthorized Little Women series and also the final book by Louisa May Alcott.

The Louisa May Alcott sister’s name is Abigail May Alcott Nieriker, Elizabeth Sewall Alcott, and Anna Alcott Pratt.


What Is The Order Of Louisa May Alcott Books?

  • Book 1. Little Men. Book 1. Little Men. (1 review)
  • Book 2. Little Women. Book 2. Little Women. Grown-up Meg, tomboyish Jo, timid Beth, and precocious Amy. …
  • Book 3. Good Wives. Book 3. Good Wives.
  • Book 4. Jo’s Boys. Book 4. Jo’s Boys.

What Are Louisa May Alcott’s Most Famous Works?

Louisa May Alcott is most famous for her novel Little Women (1868–69), an autobiographical text about a cheery family of modest means. She also submitted work regularly to The Atlantic Monthly and published several short stories and other novels for youth, but none were as successful as Little Women.

What Were Louisa May Alcott’s Last Words?

Alcott died of a stroke at age 55 in Boston, on March 6, 1888, two days after her father’s death. Her last known words were, “Is it not meningitis?” She is buried in Sleepy Hollow Cemetery in Concord, near Emerson, Hawthorne, and Thoreau, on a hillside now known as “Authors’ Ridge”.

Did Louisa May Alcott Marry?

Unlike Jo, Alcott never married or had biological children (although she cared for her young niece, nicknamed “Lulu,” until the author’s death in 1888 at age 55).

There is no evidence that indicates that Louisa May Alcott was gay. She never married, but this was probably because she had many financial burdens to carry, as she was supporting her family from a young age.

What Is The Little Woman By Louisa May Alcott About?

Louisa May Alcott’s novel Little Women tells the story of the four March girls as they make the transition to womanhood and struggle to conform to society’s strict ideals of femininity in the midst of poverty. The story is set in 1860s Massachusetts during the Civil War and is loosely based on Alcott’s own childhood.

Who Were The Contemporaries Of Louisa May Alcott?

The Alcotts lived near fellow Transcendentalists Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau whose counsel Bronson Alcott sought for new projects and guidance.

Who Is The Oldest Little Woman?

Meg, the oldest, is Jo’s confidante. Shy, sensitive Beth is the most beloved. And spoiled, vain Amy is her nemesis. She commits the most heinous act of the book when, in a fit of anger at her older sister, she burns one of Jo’s manuscripts.

Is Louisa May Alcott A Feminist?

Not only was Alcott an abolitionist, but she was a women’s suffragist too. In the 1870’s she was very busy writing stories for the Youth’s Companion, articles for the Independent, full-length narratives, and more. However, she still devoted much of her time to advocate for women’s right to vote.


In this article, we share the details about Louisa May Alcott’s Books in order. There are many books written by author Louisa May Alcott but we only share some of the 12 of them. We have seen which year the book was published. Also, we saw what the story tells. I hope the above information is useful to choose the right books by Louisa May Alcott. 

What are Louisa May Alcott’s most popular books

How many books does Louisa May Alcott have?

5 thoughts on “Top 12 Books By Louisa May Alcott”

  1. Pingback: Borlotti Beans -
  2. Pingback: About Jackfruit -

Comments are closed.